Clean Water Association honors Senator Sosnowski as legislator of the year

The Rhode Island Clean Water Association has honored Sen. V. Susan Sosnowski (D-Dist. 37, South Kingstown, New Shoreham) as its 2021 Legislator of the Year.

The award recognizes outstanding legislative contributions to ensuring clean water for Rhode Island. Senator Sosnowski was recognized for her persistent efforts in phasing out cesspools.

“The Rhode Island Clean Water Association created the Clean Water Legislator of the Year Award to recognize all the hard work involved in getting substantial, effective legislation enacted in support of the water environment. We selected Senator Susan Sosnowski for the 2020 award because of her persistent efforts over many years to phase out cesspools,” said RICWA President Peter J. Connell.


The award was announced during the Rhode Island Clean Water Legislative Summit, held virtually Feb. 25. House Speaker K. Joseph Shekarchi, Senator Jack Reed and Congressman Jim Langevin all spoke, along with R.I. Department of Environmental Management Director Janet Coit, Narragansett Bay Commission Executive Director Laurie Horridge and Save the Bay Executive Director Jonathan Stone.

“I am honored that the Clean Water Association would recognize my efforts in improving the quality of water in Rhode Island,” said Senator Sosnowski. “The bill I sponsored, which became law, is an important step in improving Narragansett Bay and our drinking water.”

Established in 1952, the Rhode Island Clean Water Association (RICWA), formerly the Narragansett Water Pollution Control Association (NWPCA), is a nonprofit organization created to promote the advancement of knowledge concerning the nature, collection, treatment, and disposal of domestic and industrial wastewaters.